Home / Book Lists / 7 Books Similar to the Lunar Chronicles

7 Books Similar to the Lunar Chronicles

Looking for books similar to the Lunar Chronicles? I know none of us wants to admit it but, we have to come to terms with the fact that the stories detailing the adventures of our beloved cyborg and her robot sidekick are finished.

But, I’ve got some GOOD NEWS. Below are listed some fantastic books that will aid in the acceptance phase of our Lunar Chronicles book mourning.

7 Books Similar to the Lunar Chronicles

Stitching Snow & Spinning Starlight

spinning starlight r.c. lewis book review


Stitching Snow and Spinning Starlight are science fiction companion books, each retelling a classic fairytale with a futuristic twist.

Stitching Snow offers a new take on Snow White, and Spinning Starlight on The Wild Swans.

What I love about these stories is that they aren’t overly technical, science fiction-wise and, I felt truly invested in the characters. PLUS, these books are not sequels and can be read as standalones, as they’re both set in different worlds.

They reminded me of the awesome space adventures in the Lunar Chronicles.

Illuminae

illuminae amie kaufman jay kristoff book review


Illuminae is THE book to read this year. I will admit to struggling to engage in the beginning, but then I was rewarded with breathless action and mind-twisting surprises.

While the transcript style dialogue and open space can feel cold, the subtle romance helps to balance everything out. It’s a book I’ve been recommending this book like CRAZY this year.

Illuminae is for the type of science fiction lover who enjoyed Interstellar, 2001 Space Odyssey and Star Wars.

These Broken Stars

these broken stars books to read after the lunar chronicles


As the book I listed as the BEST book of 2013, I highly recommend These Broken Stars.

Like the Lunar Chronicles, this book takes place both in space and on land. And, like Kai and Cinder, there’s no instalove here – it’s a hard won romance with a wonderfully swoony payoff.

If you’re looking for an edge-of-your-seat, absolutely-refuse-to-stop-reading type of book, then look no further.

Plus One

plus one by elizabeth fama book review ya


Plus One is entirely underrated. It’s a alternate history that mixes futuristic elements with every day life to create something incredibly compelling.

The 1918 flu pandemic splits the world into Night and Day to avoid spreading the sickness. What was once a protection divides the country into classes. It sounds deep – and it is – but this story moved me in such a real way and it’s truly stuck with me.

For Darkness Shows the Stars

for darkness shows the stars books to read if you like the lunar chronicles


There is not a more dreamy and science fiction-y story than For Darkness Shows the Stars. Like the retellings in the Lunar Chronicles, this story imagines if Jane Austen’s Persuasion were set in the future where there is political unrest and secret technology.

I can’t say enough good things about this author, so read this book and join me so she will return to writing YA!! Diana, we need you back!!

A Darker Shade of Magic

a darker shade of magic v.e. schwab book review


A Darker Shade of Magic is a fantasy book that has science fiction-like precision. The story is inventive and the characters are so real they could walk off the pages.

The gist is there are four different Londons, and they all exist at the same time but only a Traveller can walk between them. I refuse to say more until you’ve read the book. Please return here and comment once you’ve done so so we can TALK!!!!

Six of Crows

six of crows leigh bardugo book review grisha


One of the things I loved best about Cinder, Scarlet, Cress and Winter is the band of rag tag characters who just make you fall in love with them. They start to feel like friends, and it’s a beautiful thing.

In Six of Crows, you’ll feel that similar tug of camaraderie, only this time it’s with hardened criminals who have have dark pasts. :)

Absolutely one of the best books of 2015.

What are you doing with your life now that Winter is over? What similar books similar to the Lunar Chronicles would you add to this list?

About Lisa Parkin

I'm a hardcore lover of young adult fiction and have been reviewing books since 2011. Other interests include Downton Abbey, heat lightning storms, Harry Potter land and (begrudingly) one orange tabby.
  • Book Flame

    I loved For Darkness Shows the Stars it’s definitely one of my all time favorites.

  • http://feelyourbooks.blogspot.com Moriah Bolyard

    Ah, great list! A lot of these I’m really looking forward to picking up in the near future (Illuminae and A Darker Shade of Magic, specifically).

    Unfortunately, Spinning Starlight was a let-down for me and I probably won’t pick up the companion. Maybe it was because of the “lack of technicality”–it felt, to me, like even the author didn’t know what she was really trying to say. That lack of logic made it really hard for me to visualize anything technical in the book. But…yeah, I’m glad that others might find it enjoyable. Just didn’t do it for me.

  • Sally @ BarksandBaking

    A Darker Shade of Magic is on my list, it sounds amazing! And that little teaser of yours sounds like I need to get my hands on it soon…and then come back so we can share thoughts!