Home / Author Archives: Lisa Parkin

Author Archives: Lisa Parkin

Feed Subscription
I'm a hardcore lover of young adult fiction and have been reviewing books since 2011. Other interests include Downton Abbey, heat lightning storms, Harry Potter land and (begrudingly) one orange tabby.

New Abhorsen Novel | Book Review: Clariel by Garth Nix

New Abhorsen Novel | Book Review: Clariel by Garth Nix

Clariel offers high fantasy fun and free magic. Book Review: Clariel by Garth Nix Goodreads | Amazon |

Read More »

Let’s Discuss: The Book You Told Everyone About

Let’s Discuss: The Book You Told Everyone About

There’s this quote from The Fault in Our Stars that is SO TRUE that I think about it and nod my head in agreement every time: Can you relate with this? Let’s talk about what book filled you with righteous ...

Read More »

Where’d They Go? Part 2: More Young Adult Authors Who Haven’t Written in Awhile

Where’d They Go? Part 2: More Young Adult Authors Who Haven’t Written in Awhile

There were more missing in action YA authors than I thought! Here’s a part 2 round-up with some of our faves who have been a little too silent for too long… For Part 1, click HERE! Where’d They Go? Part ...

Read More »

Top Ten Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED to Read More Of

Top Ten Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED to Read More Of

It’s so weird to look at odd reading habits like this one – authors whose work you actually want to read more of…yet you haven’t yet. Such is book nerd life. Head over to the Broke and the Bookish for ...

Read More »

Dark New Series | Book Review: Messenger of Fear by Michael Grant

Dark New Series | Book Review: Messenger of Fear by Michael Grant

Messenger of Fear is perfect for fans of Gone Girl or Mortal Danger. Book Review: Messenger of Fear by Michael Grant Goodreads | Amazon |

Read More »

Best Book of 2014 So Far | Book Review: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Best Book of 2014 So Far | Book Review: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Snow Like Ashes is it, you guys. So far this year, it’s the best book I’ve read. I’m over the moon in love with this book and I’m so excited I can finally review it in all the glory it ...

Read More »

6 Young Adult Fantasy Book Maps to Love

6 Young Adult Fantasy Book Maps to Love

I’m not shy about saying that I love a good book map. And, thankfully authors have heard my our pleas because new YA fantasy books are including them. Book maps are definitely eye candy, but I mainly appreciate them for ...

Read More »

The Giver Movie Review – It Wasn’t as Bad as I Expected

The Giver Movie Review – It Wasn’t as Bad as I Expected

I finally saw The Giver movie,and although some things were definitely different, it was actually REALLY GOOD! It’s not too late to give this movie a chance!! The Giver Movie Review I think extremely low expectations worked very nicely in ...

Read More »

Top Ten Underrated Authors or Books in YA Fantasy

Top Ten Underrated Authors or Books in YA Fantasy

I love this prompt because there are so many amazing YA fantasy authors that it feels like no one’s heard of! Hop on over to The Broke and the Bookish to check out what everyone’s saying. Top Ten Underrated Authors ...

Read More »

Another Great Sequel | Book Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Another Great Sequel | Book Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Heir of Fire is going to rock your world. Book Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas Goodreads | Amazon |

Read More »
Scroll To Top