Home / Blog Tour / Princess of the Silver Woods Blog Tour

Princess of the Silver Woods Blog Tour

I’m excited to have the author of the Princess of the Silver Woods on the blog today – Jessica Day George! Her new book is a retelling of the story of the Twelve Dancing Princesses.

I’ve read other books similar to this, and I’m anxious to see what her book is all about.

Princess of the Silver Woods Blog Tour

Goodreads | Amazon | Author Website

princess of the silver woods jessica day george


“When Petunia, the youngest of King Gregor’s twelve dancing daughters, is invited to visit an elderly friend in the neighboring country of Westfalin, she welcomes the change of scenery. But in order to reach Westfalin, Petunia must pass through a forest where strange two-legged wolves are rumored to exist. Wolves intent on redistributing the wealth of the noble citizens who have entered their territory. But the bandit-wolves prove more rakishly handsome than truly dangerous, and it’s not until Petunia reaches her destination that she realizes the kindly grandmother she has been summoned to visit is really an enemy bent on restoring an age-old curse. The stories of Red Riding Hood and Robin Hood get a twist as Petunia and her many sisters take on bandits, grannies, and the new King Under Stone to end their family curse once and for all.”

Jessica Day George on the Princess of the Silver Woods

PRINCESS OF THE SILVER WOODS is the last book in what I call an “accidental trilogy.” (This is actually the second accidental trilogy I’ve written. The first was the Dragon Slippers trilogy.) How do you write a trilogy by accident? Well, let me tell you!

When I wrote PRINCESS OF THE MIDNIGHT BALL, I never meant to go any further. I was going to retell the story of the Twelve Dancing Princesses, and then that would be that. Just had to get that one little story off my chest, and then I would be done. I had certainly never thought about retelling Cinderella, or Little Red Riding Hood, in fact, I had assumed that I was done with fairy tales entirely.

But I realized that I loved my dancing princesses.

I had barely sent the manuscript of PRINCESS OF THE MIDNIGHT BALL (then called BLACK WOOL CHAIN) to my editor when I started to think about Poppy, and wonder if there wasn’t some other story to tell about her. An epic poem I could rework? A myth, perhaps? Or even . . . dare I say it, a fairy tale that might suit her? The story of The Twelve Dancing Princesses ends with, “And they never danced again, and they lived happily ever after.” Which is weird, if you think about it, and what helped me develop my own tale of curses and dark magic. But, even if they defeated the villain, what if one of them had to dance again? What then? What if she had to dance in slippers made of molten glass that burned her feet? And PRINCESS OF GLASS was born . . . as well as PRINCESS OF THE SILVER WOODS. Because as soon as I started to work on Poppy’s story of mistaken identity and glass slippers, I started to drop hints that all was not right back home in Westfalin. I don’t even remember why I did it, but once I started I couldn’t stop. I was absolutely determined to tell yet another story about my princesses, one that would bring all the sisters back together and pit them against their greatest fears and their oldest enemies just. One. More. Time.

Which is how, in trying to retell the story of The Twelve Dancing Princesses I somehow ended up retelling Cinderella. And Little Red Riding Hood. And even Robin Hood. And how I accidentally ended up writing another trilogy, which ends now with PRINCESS OF THE SILVER WOODS.


Thank you to Bloomsbury for coordinating the tour and to Jessica for stopping by the blog! Princess of the Silver Woods is officially on my TBR!

About Lisa Parkin

I'm a hardcore lover of young adult fiction and have been reviewing books since 2011. Other interests include Downton Abbey, heat lightning storms, Harry Potter land and (begrudingly) one orange tabby.