Home / Books / Vampires Books: Sparkles Out, Monsters In

Vampires Books: Sparkles Out, Monsters In

After reading Twilight et all back in the day, I took a long break from reading vampire books. I just got tired of the over-saturation in YA fantasy and decided lay off all vamp books for awhile.

However, I recently read Darkness Before Dawn, which I didn’t realize was about vampires until it was too late (i.e. I started reading the book and got hooked). But, I’m seeing a new trend in vampire books these days: Sparkles are out and Monsters are in.

Weigh in with your thoughts on the new vampire trend!

Vampire Books: Sparkles Out, Monsters In

vampire books sparkles monster


[pinit]

Vampires have historically been characterized by being evil and grotesque. It really started with the Edward Cullen craze that vampires started to become sexier and less deadly.

Now it seems we’re back to the drawing board. Below are a few 2012 vampire books that take back that essential idea that vampires are evil and gross and cannot be trusted:

  • The Hunt by Andrew Fakuda
  • The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa
  • Darkness Before Dawn by J.A. London

A Few Pre-2012 Releases:

  • Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith
  • Sunshine by Robin McKinley
  • Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews

My questions to you are: What do you think about this new trend in vampire books? Have you read any these types of books? Have you liked or disliked them?

Even though this new trend is a departure from sparkling vamps, I still think it’s a little too much, too soon. I still need a break, but I do like the idea of vampires going back to their dark, wicked roots.

And, I have heard a ton of rave reviews for The Hunt, so I do think I’ll be checking out that book.

Please share your thoughts about any type of vampire books in the comments!

About Lisa Parkin

I'm a hardcore lover of young adult fiction and have been reviewing books since 2011. Other interests include Downton Abbey, heat lightning storms, Harry Potter land and (begrudingly) one orange tabby.
  • http://twitter.com/heylisarenee Lisa!

    I like.

    • http://www.readbreatherelax.com Lisa@Read.Breathe.Relax.

      Thanks, Lisa! :D Oh vamps, will we ever escape you!?

  • http://www.mithrilwisdom.com/ Jamie Gibbs

    The whole sexy, sparkly vamps thing is a pain. Vampires are predators and the “I’m falling in love with you, you big fanged hunk of undead love” is more than a little silly. It’s good to know that there are some proper vamp novels in the woodwork and that this might all be just a phase.

    • http://www.readbreatherelax.com Lisa@Read.Breathe.Relax.

      Hahahah, Jamie – that’s the best response EVER. “I’m falling in love with you, you big fanged hunk of undead love.” lol!

  • Laura

    I love all the true blood book series!

    • http://www.readbreatherelax.com Lisa@Read.Breathe.Relax.

      That show’s kind of a mix of both right, evil but sexy vampires?

  • Mayra Calvani

    Actually, perhaps you’re too young but back in the 70′s Anne Rice had already made vampires that were beautiful and sexy with her debut novel, Interview with the Vampire and later with the Vampire Lestat and all the other vampire chronicles. Meyer borrowed a lot from her including the pale sparkles and a lot of other things. For readers of Anne Rice the only thing Meyer added was the YA element.

    • http://www.readbreatherelax.com Lisa@Read.Breathe.Relax.

      Good point Mayra. I haven’t read her books, but I’ve heard of them. I didn’t realize her novels and Meyer’s were so similar! Interesting…